Keeping it pinned together…

That giddy moment of butterflies is what a lot of brides are looking for. I didn’t quite realize how much even I was looking for it until I started working on the pattern. The most difficult part of designing a dress has got to be getting the core structure right, and that all begins with the pattern. For me, when I see the design lines coming together I can juset feel when they’re right. I’ll un-pin and re-pin until it feels right, but there’s something that just tells me when to stop.

Draping is far and away my favorite way to make a pattern. I feel like I have more control, and can better envision what’s going to happen with the final product. It’s 3D. The fabric has movement. Whereas paper is 2-dimensional. You have to hope you drew a curve just right so that when it’s curved further it looks right. I’m not one for hoping.

So here she is…the pinned up version. I’ll have some basted together pieces ready by tomorrow and hoping to know by this weekend if I plan to continue on this road!!

Positivity, Love, Gratitude,

XoXo Kelsey “Jolie”

Leave a comment